Leave a comment

Tuesday Tip: How to Peel Ginger

Today’s Tuesday Tip is brought to you by the letter “G” for ginger! Ginger is arguably one of the most important ingredients in a chef’s arsenal – it can be added to savory dishes for a great kick or sweetened and added to desserts for just a touch of class. It can even be just a great snack to keep you going while you do all the cooking! Rita always keeps a jar of candied ginger nearby for a quick snack. There really is nothing bad to say about ginger. Well, except for how crazy difficult it is to peel! I’ve known about today’s tip for a while, but I have to admit that I was a little reluctant to try it. I mean, in what alternate universe is a peeler not the best instrument to, well you know, peel things? Turns out that in the world of ginger, a peeler is anything but convenient. There are so many bumps and irregularities on ginger that when I peel it with a peeler I end up throwing most of it away. But I finally decided to try the old piece of advice to use the back of a spoon and all I can say is – “why didn’t I try this sooner!?” The peel comes off clean and smooth with hardly and waste. I’m a believer, and I think you will be too!

peel ginger with a spoon

Leave a Reply

